Special prize winners 2019


Award Project Title Competitor names School Region
Competitors' Choice Award Edible Water Bottles Luke De Bretton-Gordon Rawlins Academy East Midlands
London International Youth Science Forum – A place at 61st LIYSF 2019 Optimising Nanoparticles Sayeed Ahmed  Woodhouse College London
The Air Products Protecting The Environment Award The MAW Heating Solution Max Brown, Alexander Clarke, William Stoneham Bethany School South East
The BAE Systems Advancements in Technology Award Pi-Box Colin Gass, Cameron Gunn, Callum Sergeant  Dalziel High School Scotland
The Colum McNally Cheeky Potato Award 2019 Solar Powered Electric Bicycle Callum Shingleton Smith The King Edmund School Eastern
The Gatsby Special Award for Practical Science  - Mr Hayward Birkenhead School North West
The Intel ISEF Award MotorMate Jack Davies Ysgol Uwchradd Aberteifi Wales
The JCB Innovation Award Rustic Chair Adam Lowde St Augustine's Catholic School Yorkshire and Humber
The Network Rail Innovation in Collaboration Award Drones to the Rescue Cameron  Harvey, Bruce McKechnie, Matthew Murray, Andrew Twigg McLaren High School Scotland
The Rotary Environmental/Scientific Advancement Award Ufikiaji Kirsten Attfield, Thomas Brindley-Carter, Rowan McNally, Fiona Sallaku, Pippa Woods, Aroush Zia The Kingsway School North West
The Royal Air Force Teamwork Award Eco Factory Jessica Batchelor, Eleanor Culiiford, Imogen Day, Alexandra Farren, Beril Uzun, Samudi Wickramaratne Rugby High School West Midlands
The Royal Institution Faraday Award Smart Bandages for Diabetics Melissa Fletcher   Millom School North West
The Siemens Digital Skills Award Facial Recognition Door Entry Freddie Howells Caerleon Comprehensive School Wales
The Stantec Future Communities Award Dyeing to save the environment Scarlett Bell, Ella Gifford, Libby Ward Corbridge Middle School North East
The Young Scientific Instrument Maker Award Skeletal age estimation Andrey Gizdov   Ackworth School Yorkshire and Humber
The Young Water Dragon Award Improving wastewater screens Annabelle Ellin, James Hickmott, Katy Jones, Dominick Lawrence, Lauren Schlup Hurstpierpoint College South East